Main and Rose Plaza

Stopped by M&R on a rainy day and found the Birch trees absolutely  glowing.  I helped to design this plaza in 2006 for my friend PH, when I sketched a grove of trees and a collection of stones.  I wanted something asymmetrical to play off of the rectilinear walls. I also thought there was a need for an interesting view from the balconies.  The mass of Birches adds texture all year round and great fall color.   The larger stones came from a foundation, and were quarried in Indiana.   It’s a great place to sit in nice weather, and I’ve seen several photo shoots utilizing the space.

Local artist Rod Lindauer did the sculpture.  All in all, a nice little space in Lex.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

